Boaz Publishing

Home of the Fabri Prize.

Submissions for the 2012 Fabri Literary Prize now being accepted.  Click Here to go to the submissions page.

                         Deadline for entry is June 15, 2012

Submissions guidelines: 
Submit the first 50 to 100 pages of your unpublished novel in pdf or Word file format. 
There is never a fee to enter. 

Questions? Email Tom Southern, Boaz Publisher

n 2006 Dr. Matthew McKay established the Fabri Literary Prize to honor the memory of Frances Fabri. A holocaust survivor, Frances spearheaded efforts in the US to record survivor stories, creating the interviewing protocols that are used widely today.

The Fabri Literary Prize recognizes the work of aspiring novelists by providing funds directly to authors, by publishing their novels in attractive trade editions, and by publicizing their work to literary reviewers, librarians, and booksellers.

The 2012 prizewinner will receive a publishing contract with a $7,500 advance and a $5,000 marketing budget. The winning novel will be published in the Spring of 2013 in a hardcover or trade paperback edition by Counterpoint/Softskull Press and distributed to the book trade by Publishers Group West.

The contest is open to American novelists. Submitted manuscripts must be unpublished and written for educated adults with broad interests. Excluded from consideration are books for children or young adults and books that are focused on the religious market.

The inaugural Fabri Prize was awarded to David Fuller Cook of Durham, NC for his novel Reservation Nation.

“Entering the contest and being awarded the inaugural Fabri Literary Prize for Reservation Nation, came as an affirmation for the inexplicable light of confidence,  that my writing is worth the reading. That the Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune praised the book was valuable, but it touched me most deeply that  Indian Country, the nation’s largest Native American news source, gave it a thumbs up.   I thank Boaz Publishing Company for making this possible.”

To learn more about Reservation Nation and David Cook, click here.

The 2008 Fabri Prize was awarded to Eli Brown of Oakland, CA, for his first novel, The Great Days.

Of The Great Days, Publishers’ Weekly says,

 ”The story of a troubled young cult member, this debut novel from poet Brown is a carefully-imagined tale of delusion and disillusion….With lyrical, confident prose, Brown makes August’s dark journey a harrowing, convincing look into the heart of cult life that should linger with readers.”

And The Philadelphia Inquirer says,

“…a story that peers into the inner minds of the faithful…The Great Days is accomplished and enormously powerful.”

To learn more, click here.